Dancing eyes

Image result for dancing eyes syndrome

I have congenital Nystagmus, also known as dancing eyes; which is defined as an involuntary jerking or bouncing of the eyeball that occurs when there is a disturbance of the vestibular (inner ear) system or the oculomotor control of the eye. Most, but not all people with Nystagmus are also extremely light sensitive because we have Ocular Albinism.

I told myself that If Beethoven could compose music and he was deaf, that I could certainly write a novel with my slight visual impairment. I just simply let my creative brain take control, and let my fingers do all the work for me, in hopes my eyes would somehow not hinder the process.

I look like everyone else on the outside. I don’t look disabled, nor have I accepted help for anything that could qualify me as such; because that’s not how I see myself or want anyone else to see me. I don’t take any medications of any sort.  Many people with my specific form of visual impairment cannot operate a motor vehicle. It took me seven attempts to pass the written test and seven tempts to pass the driving test, and I have had a driver’s license since 1998.  I graduated high school in 1998, at the age of nineteen and in 2013 I finally finished college with a bachelor’s degree. Along the way I married and had  children.

I have steadfastly remained positive my whole life and while writing my novel, and I always remind myself that, it’ll be just a little bit longer. Once I get this novel published things will be better.   My visual impairment, the jerking or bouncing of my eyeball makes it difficult to focus to find needed errors.

I didn’t start out writing this novel with the burning desire of fame and finances. I wanted to write to inspire my own children to take an interest in literature that they previously hadn’t had before. It was their curiosity and desire for me to share my work with them that kept me going.

Harper Lee was famous for one novel, To Kill a Mockingbird.   If I can write one good novel in my lifetime, that will reach the hearts of the young, that will nurture minds, and inspire others through the advancement of literature, then I will feel completed.

Leave a Reply

